AVA360 Advertising

USA: Waivers for Iran oil importers 'going to zero' announces Pompeo

Subscribe to our channel! rupt.ly/subscribe
The US will not grant exemptions to China, Japan, South Korea, Turkey or India on their imports of Iranian oil, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo announced in Washington DC on Monday.
"We'll no longer grant any exemptions. We're going to zero. Going to zero across the board," Pompeo told reporters.
Pompeo said that the US will help the countries to "transition away from Iranian crude [oil] to other alternatives."
He added that "the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and the United Emirates have assured us they will ensure an appropriate supply for the markets."
The waivers granted to China, Japan, South Korea, Turkey and India are set to expire on May 2.
The exemptions were granted back in 2015, when US President Donald Trump pulled out of the Iran nuclear deal (JCPOA).
Credit: Department of State
Video ID: 20190422-016
Video on Demand:
Contact: [email protected]
Sign in or sign up to post comments.
Be the first to comment